About MPS

The Malawi Police Service is a government department under Ministry of Internal Affairs and Public Security.

Historically the Service started as an organized Nyasaland Police Force on 5th October, 1921 It had its headquarters in Zomba, situated at the present Police College. Police stations were also established at Zomba, Blantyre, Mulanje and Mangochi The statement of common purpose and values emphasize the objects of the Malawi Police Service. It also clarifies how these objects shall be fulfilled by members of the Malawi Police Service.

The Malawi Police Service is currently operating from Lilongwe district as its National Headquarters It has four Regional Headquarters which are Southern, Central, Eastern and Northern.The Police operates in the 34 Police Stations

Creating a safe and secure Malawi

We the Malawi Police service working in partnership with the community shall provide quality internal security services for all by: Maintaining law and order Protecting life and property Preventing crime Investigating and detecting crime Reducing the fear of crime Apprehending and bringing all offenders to justice Promoting road safety Safeguarding the freedoms and rights of all the people Respecting the rule of law in accordance with the constitution OUR VALUES
As an organization, our values shall be:
    Independence and professionalism
    Openness and accountability
    Responsiveness and dependability
    Quality in service provision
    Efficient and effective use of available resources